WAPR

Worldwide AI Proliferation Registry
facility register built 2026-11-01
build …latest run build f7813e9identity detector v4condition rules WCI-1
Facility record · OpenStreetMap

Digital Realty ACC10

OSM way/701923204 · operator tag: Digital Realty

WAPR is a public register of where AI computing physically sits. This page is one building that volunteers have mapped as a data centre — the map records what kind of building it is, not what runs inside it, so it may host AI, cloud or ordinary corporate servers. Everything below comes from OpenStreetMap, the volunteer-made public map, and is republished as recorded — including the operator tag, which is what mappers entered rather than a check of who runs the building today. Fields nobody recorded are shown as “not recorded”, never guessed. What WAPR is →

region
VA
address
21744, Sir Timothy Drive, Ashburn
start date (OSM)
2018
coordinates
39.013042, -77.465373
OSM object
way/701923204
OSM tag
telecom=data_center
feed checked 2026-11-01 09:17 UTC

This record is what OpenStreetMap contributors have mapped and tagged as a data centre — nothing more. WAPR republishes it verbatim with provenance; fields the mappers did not record are shown as such, never inferred.

WAPR id
WAPR-US-000916

What the public record says

feed checked 2026-09-14 05:15 UTC (oldest of 6 instruments)
how this is known as old as the oldest of Mapped facilities, Interconnection facilities, Crane filings, Virginia regulated sites, Permitted water discharge, Generators at sites (EIA-860M/923)

Each line is a public document that marks a step in this site’s life — a rung, in the register’s terms — with its date and what kind of date it is: the document’s own, a state the record shows already held on that date, or the day WAPR first saw the record.

  1. 2026-01-15on or beforecrane notices filed beside it — FAA obstruction evaluation case file: the first filing within 1 km of any register object of this crane site (the objects sharing its name, operator and country, each within 3 km of another member), one calendar-year window (0 m from the pin)
    17 filings within 1 km, last 2026-10-14, distinctive
    FAA case files are read one calendar year at a time and the 2025 FAA year file was joined against a different register than the 2026 file the crane dates come from, so a filing near an object one register lacks cannot be counted — re-derive it (collectors/faa_part77.py --rederive 2025), so the first 2026 filing cannot be shown to be when this site's filings began
    figures restated 2026-10-28: previously censored by FAA case files are read one calendar year at a time: 22 crane filing(s) within 1 km of a register object of this crane site, or within 1 km of the mapped site, are already in the 2025 file, so the first 2026 filing is not when filings began; filings prior window 22
  2. 2026-09-15first seenmapped — OpenStreetMap object, first minted into the WAPR register
    figures restated 2026-10-28: previously start date tag not stated

The register’s rungs are: mapped · listed in the network registry · crane notices filed beside it · on an air regulator's books · holds a discharge permit · generators recorded emitting · a generator within 250 m produced power · interconnection · operating load. Rungs not shown for this site are rungs no public document has put it on. Interconnection and operating load are never written until a primary record exists.

Where it sits

feed checked 2026-11-02 03:29 UTC data each map layer as its publisher served it when fetched, 2026-09-15 to 2026-11-01
retail utility territory
VIRGINIA ELECTRIC & POWER CO · investor ownedholding company (HOLDING_CO) DOMINION RESOURCEScustomers (CUSTOMERS) 2,725,288layer vintage 2023-08
nearest transmission line of 230 kV or more
1,106 m · 230 kV · VIRGINIA ELECTRIC & POWER CO
principal aquifer (regional aquifer system)
Early Mesozoic Basin Aquifers (Sandstone)
nearest named waterway
Broad Run · 841 m

Sources

Straight-line joins to federal layers: HIFLD transmission and retail service territories (2023 vintage), USGS principal aquifers (1:2.5M), USGS NHD named flowlines. They say what surrounds the site, never what it draws, pumps or discharges. A territory says who sells retail power there; a line passing a site is not a line serving it.

Air permit

feed checked 2026-11-01 09:18 UTC data permit status as EPA's ECHO held it on 2026-11-01

No air-permit source within 500 m carries the data-centre sector code in ICIS-Air. WAPR reads only the ICIS-Air sources a state has coded NAICS 518210 or SIC 7374, so this is not proof the site has no permit.

Emissions on record

feed checked 2026-11-02 03:25 UTC data emissions in inventory year 2023 · ended 2023-12-31 fetched 2026-09-15

No NEI 2023 facility is linked to this site; 1 within 275 m is credited to WAPR-US-000912. 584 point facilities in Virginia are in the 2023 file, 236 with state, local or tribal agency data, 24 of them read by WAPR's filter as data centres with NOx. ICIS-Air lists 139 Virginia sources under the data-processing codes, 23 carrying an EIS id, 20 of those ids in this file. The file does not say whether a site missing from it fell below the reporting threshold or was not submitted, and WAPR reads only the facilities its filter selects — the filter is under How this is known.

Not this site's record — within 500 m of it, not linked to it

EIS 21518711
LC-1 and LC-2 Data Centers (74155) · within 275 m · credited to WAPR-US-000912
How this is known

WAPR's filter for the inventory file: primary NAICS code 518210, or a site name matching DATA ?CENT (case-insensitive)

Water discharge

feed checked 2026-11-01 09:21 UTC data monitoring periods from 2025-10-31 to 2026-10-31 fetched 2026-11-01

No discharge permit coded to the data-centre sector within 500 m. Most cooling water leaves as vapour and to the sewer, not through an outfall, so a site with no discharge permit on record is not a site that uses no water.

Generators within 1 km (EIA)

feed checked 2026-11-02 03:29 UTC data generators as listed in EIA-860M for 2026-08; output from EIA-923 over the last 12 months EIA's data service returned for each plant, windows ending between 2022-12 and 2026-08 — each plant's months are printed on its row · ended 2026-08-31 fetch time not stated

No EIA-listed generator within 1 km. EIA lists grid-connected units of 1 MW or more; behind-the-meter plants that never interconnect are not obliged to file.