CoreSite BO1
OSM way/29827954 · operator not recorded
WAPR is a public register of where AI computing physically sits. This page is one building that volunteers have mapped as a data centre — the map records what kind of building it is, not what runs inside it, so it may host AI, cloud or ordinary corporate servers. Everything below comes from OpenStreetMap, the volunteer-made public map, and is republished as recorded — including the operator tag, which is what mappers entered rather than a check of who runs the building today. Fields nobody recorded are shown as “not recorded”, never guessed. What WAPR is →
- region
- MA
- address
- 70, Inner Belt Road, Somerville
- start date (OSM)
- not recorded
- coordinates
- 42.376819, -71.079882
- OSM object
- way/29827954
- OSM tag
- telecom=data_center
This record is what OpenStreetMap contributors have mapped and tagged as a data centre — nothing more. WAPR republishes it verbatim with provenance; fields the mappers did not record are shown as such, never inferred.
- WAPR id
- WAPR-US-001495
What the public record says
feed checked 2026-09-14 05:15 UTC (oldest of 6 instruments)how this is known
as old as the oldest of Mapped facilities, Interconnection facilities, Crane filings, Virginia regulated sites, Permitted water discharge, Generators at sites (EIA-860M/923)Each line marks a step in this site’s life — a rung, in the register’s terms — with the public document that records it, its date and what kind of date it is: the document’s own, a state the record shows already held on that date, or the day WAPR first saw the record. Where three or more lines would differ only in their distance from the pin — the same step, source and date — they share one line, and each record is listed under it.
- 2022-01on or beforea generator within 250 m produced power — EIA-923 monthly net generation (first month with output) for the EIA-860M plant within 250 m of the site (57 m from the pin)
CoreSite - Somerville · Other Natural Gas · 27,810 MWh from 2025-01 to 2025-12
EIA-860M lists a generator operating from 2020-09, before the first month with reported output (2022-01)
figures restated 2026-10-22: previously mwh last 12 4,526; window 12 {"calendar_months_spanned":12,"from":"2024-01","months_in_window":12,"to":"2024-12"} - 2026-09-15first seenmapped — OpenStreetMap object, first minted into the WAPR register
- 2026-09-15first seenlisted in the network registry — 3 PeeringDB facility records, 17–131 m from the pin
Show the 3 records
Each by the name and organisation PeeringDB lists for it (the PeeringDB list WAPR serves, generated 2026-09-14), nearest first. The names are PeeringDB's own; WAPR does not title this building from them. Interconnection facilities: Colocation and interconnection sites that network operators register publicly. Enrichment only — it over-represents colo and under-represents hyperscale.
- CoreSite - Boston (BO1) · CoreSite · 17 m from the pin · PeeringDB fac/584
- ColoSpace - Somerville, MA · FirstLight Fiber, Inc. · 17 m from the pin · PeeringDB fac/3460
- Evocative BOS1 · VPLS · 131 m from the pin · PeeringDB fac/9460
The register’s rungs are: mapped · listed in the network registry · crane notices filed beside it · on an air regulator's books · holds a discharge permit · generators recorded emitting · a generator within 250 m produced power · interconnection · operating load. Rungs not shown for this site are rungs no public document has put it on. Interconnection and operating load are never written until a primary record exists.
Where it sits
feed checked 2026-11-02 03:29 UTC data each map layer as its publisher served it when fetched, 2026-09-15 to 2026-11-01- retail utility territory
- overlapping territories — NSTAR ELECTRIC COMPANY or FITCHBURG GAS & ELEC LIGHT CO or MASSACHUSETTS BAY TRANS AUTHORITY (3 territories overlap here; the layer carries no certification field, so which one serves the site is not stated)layer vintage 2023-08
- nearest transmission line of 230 kV or more
- 1,239 m · 345 kV · NSTAR ELECTRIC COMPANY
- principal aquifer (regional aquifer system)
- no principal aquifer mapped under the point
- nearest named waterway
- Charles River · 1,371 m
Sources
- USGS Principal Aquifers of the United States (1:2,500,000) (US Government work, public domain) — regional aquifer system under the point — not site hydrogeology, not a statement that the site pumps
- HIFLD Electric Power Transmission Lines (ORNL / DOE-CESER) (Public use (HIFLD Open))
- HIFLD Electric Retail Service Territories, 2023-08 vintage (ORNL / DOE-CESER; per-polygon SOURCE = EIA-860/861 + the utility's filed map) (None (Public Use) per the item's licenceInfo) — served by the NTIA National Broadband Availability Map ArcGIS mirror; HIFLD retired the public layer in 2025
- USGS National Hydrography Dataset, Flowline — Small Scale (layer 4), named features only (US Government work, public domain) — straight-line distance to the nearest NAMED stream or river; a reading beyond 30 km carries beyond_30km, and a site with none in the widest search carries no waterway
Straight-line joins to federal layers: HIFLD transmission and retail service territories (2023 vintage), USGS principal aquifers (1:2.5M), USGS NHD named flowlines. They say what surrounds the site, never what it draws, pumps or discharges. A territory says who sells retail power there; a line passing a site is not a line serving it.
Air permit
feed checked 2026-11-01 09:18 UTC data permit status as EPA's ECHO held it on 2026-11-01- MA0000002511903104
- INTERNAP NETWORK SERVICES · Synthetic Minor Emissions · Permanently Closed · No Violation Identified · ECHO record (82 m)
Source
- EPA ECHO — ICIS-Air facility search (air_rest_services), NAICS 518210 ∪ SIC 7374 (EPA disclaimer: freely distributed for non-commercial, scientific and educational use; federal facts)
From EPA's ICIS-Air, the federal compliance system every state reports permitted sources into. The permit itself is held by the state register the id encodes.
Emissions on record
feed checked 2026-11-02 03:25 UTC data emissions in inventory year 2023 · ended 2023-12-31 fetched 2026-09-15- NEI 2023
- EVOCATIVE · INTERNAP CORP: 90.6 t NOX · 19.5 t CO · 7.03 t PM25 · 7.4 t VOC · 5.96 t SO2 (distance 128 m)
Source
- EPA National Emissions Inventory 2023 — point-source facility summary (EIS report 38234, 21 Jul 2026) (ZIP download) (EPA disclaimer — freely distributed for non-commercial, scientific and educational use; federal facts)
Tons per year accepted into EPA's National Emissions Inventory for the facility — the only national per-facility emissions number for the sector, only as complete as what each state submitted and WAPR's data-centre filter.
Water discharge
feed checked 2026-11-01 09:21 UTC data monitoring periods from 2025-10-31 to 2026-10-31 fetched 2026-11-01No discharge permit coded to the data-centre sector within 500 m. Most cooling water leaves as vapour and to the sewer, not through an outfall, so a site with no discharge permit on record is not a site that uses no water.
Generators within 1 km (EIA)
feed checked 2026-11-02 03:29 UTC data generators as listed in EIA-860M for 2026-08; output from EIA-923 over the last 12 months EIA's data service returned for each plant, windows ending between 2022-12 and 2026-08 — each plant's months are printed on its row · ended 2026-08-31 fetch time not stated- plant 66151
- CoreSite - Somerville · Bloom Energy · 1 generator(s) · Other Natural Gas · 3.6 MW nameplate · first operating 2020-09 · 27,810 MWh from 2025-01 to 2025-12 (capacity factor 0.882) · EIA plant (57 m)
Sources
- Form EIA-860M, monthly generator inventory (US Government work — public domain)
- Form EIA-923, monthly net generation and fuel (US Government work — public domain)
Grid-connected generators of 1 MW or more within 1 km, from Form EIA-860M, with monthly output from Form EIA-923. Standby gensets that show 0 MWh did not run. Islanded plants are absent by rule — they are not obliged to file.