WAPR

Worldwide AI Proliferation Registry
facility register built 2026-11-01
build …latest run build f7813e9identity detector v4condition rules WCI-1
Facility record · OpenStreetMap

CyrusOne NVA4

OSM way/273896096 · operator tag: CyrusOne

WAPR is a public register of where AI computing physically sits. This page is one building that volunteers have mapped as a data centre — the map records what kind of building it is, not what runs inside it, so it may host AI, cloud or ordinary corporate servers. Everything below comes from OpenStreetMap, the volunteer-made public map, and is republished as recorded — including the operator tag, which is what mappers entered rather than a check of who runs the building today. Fields nobody recorded are shown as “not recorded”, never guessed. What WAPR is →

region
VA
address
22811, International Drive, Sterling
start date (OSM)
not recorded
coordinates
38.984934, -77.425649
OSM object
way/273896096
OSM tag
telecom=data_center
feed checked 2026-11-01 09:17 UTC

This record is what OpenStreetMap contributors have mapped and tagged as a data centre — nothing more. WAPR republishes it verbatim with provenance; fields the mappers did not record are shown as such, never inferred.

WAPR id
WAPR-US-000829
campus
WAPR-US-000823 (derived grouping, 250 m)

What the public record says

feed checked 2026-09-14 05:15 UTC (oldest of 6 instruments)
how this is known as old as the oldest of Mapped facilities, Interconnection facilities, Crane filings, Virginia regulated sites, Permitted water discharge, Generators at sites (EIA-860M/923)

Each line is a public document that marks a step in this site’s life — a rung, in the register’s terms — with its date and what kind of date it is: the document’s own, a state the record shows already held on that date, or the day WAPR first saw the record.

  1. 2024document dategenerators recorded emitting — Virginia DEQ EDMA emissions table 292 (4 m from the pin)
    4.4 short tons NOx in 2024
    figures restated 2026-10-24: previously link m 23
  2. 2026-01-15on or beforecrane notices filed beside it — FAA obstruction evaluation case file: the first filing within 1 km of any register object of this crane site (the objects sharing its name, operator and country, each within 3 km of another member), one calendar-year window (0 m from the pin)
    3 filings within 1 km, last 2026-05-21
    FAA case files are read one calendar year at a time and the 2025 FAA year file was joined against a different register than the 2026 file the crane dates come from, so a filing near an object one register lacks cannot be counted — re-derive it (collectors/faa_part77.py --rederive 2025), so the first 2026 filing cannot be shown to be when this site's filings began
    figures restated 2026-10-28: previously censored by FAA case files are read one calendar year at a time: 5 crane filing(s) within 1 km of a register object of this crane site, or within 1 km of the mapped site, are already in the 2025 file, so the first 2026 filing is not when filings began; filings prior window 5
  3. 2026-09-15first seenmapped — OpenStreetMap object, first minted into the WAPR register
  4. 2026-09-15first seenon an air regulator's books — Virginia DEQ EDMA air sites layer 294 (4 m from the pin)
    status Operating · 80% Synthetic Minor
    figures restated 2026-10-24: previously link m 23

The register’s rungs are: mapped · listed in the network registry · crane notices filed beside it · on an air regulator's books · holds a discharge permit · generators recorded emitting · a generator within 250 m produced power · interconnection · operating load. Rungs not shown for this site are rungs no public document has put it on. Interconnection and operating load are never written until a primary record exists.

Where it sits

feed checked 2026-11-02 03:29 UTC data each map layer as its publisher served it when fetched, 2026-09-15 to 2026-11-01
retail utility territory
overlapping territories — VIRGINIA ELECTRIC & POWER CO or NORTHERN VIRGINIA ELEC COOP (2 territories overlap here; the layer carries no certification field, so which one serves the site is not stated)layer vintage 2023-08
nearest transmission line of 230 kV or more
1,157 m · 230 kV · VIRGINIA ELECTRIC & POWER CO
principal aquifer (regional aquifer system)
Early Mesozoic Basin Aquifers (Sandstone)
nearest named waterway
Indian Creek · 421 m

Sources

Straight-line joins to federal layers: HIFLD transmission and retail service territories (2023 vintage), USGS principal aquifers (1:2.5M), USGS NHD named flowlines. They say what surrounds the site, never what it draws, pumps or discharges. A territory says who sells retail power there; a line passing a site is not a line serving it.

Air permit

feed checked 2026-11-01 09:18 UTC data permit status as EPA's ECHO held it on 2026-11-01
VA0000005110774109
CYRUSONE NORTHERN VIRGINIA DATA CENTER - SHAW ROAD · 80% Synthetic Minor Emissions · Operating · No Violation Identified · last inspection 06/06/2025 · ECHO record (157 m)

Source

From EPA's ICIS-Air, the federal compliance system every state reports permitted sources into. The permit itself is held by the state register the id encodes.

Not this site's records — within 500 m of it, not linked to it

VA0000005110700814
22810-22860 INTERNATIONAL DRIVE LLC · within 85 m · credited to WAPR-US-000827
VA0000005110774153
AMAZON DATA SERVICES, INC. IAD-144 IAD-145 · within 87 m · credited to WAPR-US-000828

Emissions on record

feed checked 2026-11-02 03:25 UTC data emissions in inventory year 2023 · ended 2023-12-31 fetched 2026-09-15
NEI 2023
CyrusOne Northern Virginia Data Center - Shaw Road (74109): 31.7 t NOX · 5.12 t CO · 0.65 t VOC (EIS id → ICIS-Air VA0000005110774109, 157 m from the map; 28 m from this NEI coordinate)

Source

Tons per year accepted into EPA's National Emissions Inventory for the facility — the only national per-facility emissions number for the sector, only as complete as what each state submitted and WAPR's data-centre filter.

Not this site's record — within 500 m of it, not linked to it

EIS 21518611
Cyxtera DC5/DC6 (73158) · within 250 m · credited to WAPR-US-000820

Water discharge

feed checked 2026-11-01 09:21 UTC data monitoring periods from 2025-10-31 to 2026-10-31 fetched 2026-11-01

No discharge permit coded to the data-centre sector within 500 m. Most cooling water leaves as vapour and to the sewer, not through an outfall, so a site with no discharge permit on record is not a site that uses no water.

Generators within 1 km (EIA)

feed checked 2026-11-02 03:29 UTC data generators as listed in EIA-860M for 2026-08; output from EIA-923 over the last 12 months EIA's data service returned for each plant, windows ending between 2022-12 and 2026-08 — each plant's months are printed on its row · ended 2026-08-31 fetch time not stated

No EIA-listed generator within 1 km. EIA lists grid-connected units of 1 MW or more; behind-the-meter plants that never interconnect are not obliged to file.