WAPR

Worldwide AI Proliferation Registry
facility register built 2026-11-01
build …latest run build f7813e9identity detector v4condition rules WCI-1
Facility record · OpenStreetMap

Expedient Pittsburgh Nova Place

OSM node/14277048779 · operator tag: Expedient

WAPR is a public register of where AI computing physically sits. This page is one building that volunteers have mapped as a data centre — the map records what kind of building it is, not what runs inside it, so it may host AI, cloud or ordinary corporate servers. Everything below comes from OpenStreetMap, the volunteer-made public map, and is republished as recorded — including the operator tag, which is what mappers entered rather than a check of who runs the building today. Fields nobody recorded are shown as “not recorded”, never guessed. What WAPR is →

region
PA
address
100, South Commons, Pittsburgh
start date (OSM)
not recorded
coordinates
40.450639, -80.005962
OSM object
node/14277048779
OSM tag
telecom=data_center
feed checked 2026-11-01 09:17 UTC

This record is what OpenStreetMap contributors have mapped and tagged as a data centre — nothing more. WAPR republishes it verbatim with provenance; fields the mappers did not record are shown as such, never inferred.

WAPR id
WAPR-US-001847

What the public record says

feed checked 2026-09-14 05:15 UTC (oldest of 6 instruments)
how this is known as old as the oldest of Mapped facilities, Interconnection facilities, Crane filings, Virginia regulated sites, Permitted water discharge, Generators at sites (EIA-860M/923)

Each line marks a step in this site’s life — a rung, in the register’s terms — with the public document that records it, its date and what kind of date it is: the document’s own, a state the record shows already held on that date, or the day WAPR first saw the record. Where three or more lines would differ only in their distance from the pin — the same step, source and date — they share one line, and each record is listed under it.

  1. 2026-10-28first seenmapped — OpenStreetMap object, first minted into the WAPR register
  2. 2026-10-28first seenlisted in the network registry — 5 PeeringDB facility records, 80–161 m from the pin
    Show the 5 records

    Each by the name and organisation PeeringDB lists for it (the PeeringDB list WAPR serves, generated 2026-09-14), nearest first. The names are PeeringDB's own; WAPR does not title this building from them. Interconnection facilities: Colocation and interconnection sites that network operators register publicly. Enrichment only — it over-represents colo and under-represents hyperscale.

    1. Crown Castle Pittsburgh (Allegheny Center Mall) · Crown Castle Inc. · 80 m from the pin · PeeringDB fac/1423
    2. DataBank Pittsburgh (PIT1) · DataBank, Ltd. · 80 m from the pin · PeeringDB fac/4292
    3. DQE Communications (Allegheny Center Mall) · DQE Communications LLC · 80 m from the pin · PeeringDB fac/8127
    4. Expedient Pittsburgh - Nova Place · Expedient · 135 m from the pin · PeeringDB fac/8475
    5. Zayo Pittsburgh - 2500 Allegheny Center Mall · Zayo Group · 161 m from the pin · PeeringDB fac/2929

The register’s rungs are: mapped · listed in the network registry · crane notices filed beside it · on an air regulator's books · holds a discharge permit · generators recorded emitting · a generator within 250 m produced power · interconnection · operating load. Rungs not shown for this site are rungs no public document has put it on. Interconnection and operating load are never written until a primary record exists.

Where it sits

feed checked 2026-11-02 03:29 UTC data each map layer as its publisher served it when fetched, 2026-09-15 to 2026-11-01
retail utility territory
overlapping territories — DUQUESNE LIGHT CO or PENNSYLVANIA POWER CO (2 territories overlap here; the layer carries no certification field, so which one serves the site is not stated)layer vintage 2023-08
nearest transmission line of 230 kV or more
3,673 m · 345 kV · DUQUESNE LIGHT CO
principal aquifer (regional aquifer system)
Pennsylvanian Aquifers (Sandstone)
nearest named waterway
Allegheny River · 602 m

Sources

Straight-line joins to federal layers: HIFLD transmission and retail service territories (2023 vintage), USGS principal aquifers (1:2.5M), USGS NHD named flowlines. They say what surrounds the site, never what it draws, pumps or discharges. A territory says who sells retail power there; a line passing a site is not a line serving it.

Air permit

feed checked 2026-11-01 09:18 UTC data permit status as EPA's ECHO held it on 2026-11-01

No air-permit source within 500 m carries the data-centre sector code in ICIS-Air. WAPR reads only the ICIS-Air sources a state has coded NAICS 518210 or SIC 7374, so this is not proof the site has no permit.

Emissions on record

feed checked 2026-11-02 03:25 UTC data emissions in inventory year 2023 · ended 2023-12-31 fetched 2026-09-15

No NEI 2023 facility that WAPR's filter reads as a data centre lies within 500 m of this site. 1,931 point facilities in Pennsylvania are in the 2023 file, 1,357 with state, local or tribal agency data, 6 of them read by WAPR's filter as data centres with NOx. ICIS-Air lists 17 Pennsylvania sources under the data-processing codes, 5 carrying an EIS id, 5 of those ids in this file. The file does not say whether a site missing from it fell below the reporting threshold or was not submitted, and WAPR reads only the facilities its filter selects — the filter is under How this is known.

How this is known

WAPR's filter for the inventory file: primary NAICS code 518210, or a site name matching DATA ?CENT (case-insensitive)

Water discharge

feed checked 2026-11-01 09:21 UTC data monitoring periods from 2025-10-31 to 2026-10-31 fetched 2026-11-01

No discharge permit coded to the data-centre sector within 500 m. Most cooling water leaves as vapour and to the sewer, not through an outfall, so a site with no discharge permit on record is not a site that uses no water.

Generators within 1 km (EIA)

feed checked 2026-11-02 03:29 UTC data generators as listed in EIA-860M for 2026-08; output from EIA-923 over the last 12 months EIA's data service returned for each plant, windows ending between 2022-12 and 2026-08 — each plant's months are printed on its row · ended 2026-08-31 fetch time not stated

No EIA-listed generator within 1 km. EIA lists grid-connected units of 1 MW or more; behind-the-meter plants that never interconnect are not obliged to file.